Creamy Coconut Lentil Soup

If you’ve read this little page, then you know that I L<3VE reading magazines.  Anytime we have a girls-night-in, my friend will drop off a huge stack for me.  I try my best to be a good friend…. put them aside….join in the conversation…. and not devour them on the spot.

When I read health and fitness magazines, if I find a recipe I’d like to try, I’ll fold down the corner or tear out the page…..but rarely do I come back and follow the recipe exactly.  I’ll keep the idea in mind and make it in my own way.   When I saw this recipe, (also found here: Creamy Coconut Lentil Soup), I knew I had to try it.  I’ve had a Trader Joe’s Light Coconut Milk in my cupboard for waayyyy too long.  I wanted to make a curry with it…..but to be honest creamy ingredients scare me….. I haven’t found a true “light” recipe that I wanted to make, until now!

Surprise surprise, I didn’t follow the recipe exactly.  I didn’t have any carrots so I substituted with a few stalks of celery.  I didn’t have shallots so I chopped up some yellow onions.  I also had half an eggplant in the fridge (rarely does this happen) so I diced and threw in about 1/2 cup of that.  I didn’t add the brown sugar (though it could have used the little added sweetness and I probably would add something the next time).  I didn’t have any limes in the house so I squeezed half a lemon into the soup.  Lastly, I didn’t have any toasted coconut. 😦  Clearly, I took this recipe and ran with it- using whatever I had so I didn’t have to drive to the store.  Though I do love grocery shopping – if I had a Whole Foods by my house…..oh I’d be so broke.  Do employees get discounts?  Maybe I should apply… 🙂

Anyway, here’s the recipe I so “daintily” tore out of the magazine….along with the turmeric and coconut milk I had from Trader Joe’s.  I’ve started adding turmeric to many of my dishes – or even to my vegetables when I quick sauté or roast them for a side dish.  Once I learned about the benefits (anti-inflammatory, powerful anti-oxidant, helps with some digestive diseases, and may prevent certain cancers and heart disease, and on and on), I started incorporating it into my cooking pretty often.  The only downside is I’ve turned our dish scrubber orange- whoops.

IMG_4852

Below is a knife from our Guy Fieri knife set.  It’s actually the best set I’ve had so far- a freebie thanks to my previous job – if only the other perks were stellar- ha!

IMG_4846

And here’s the final pot-o-beauty 😉 Okay so I’m sorry this photo is not very appetizing- I swear I’ll get some great foodie shots in my next couple posts….but isn’t my ol’ faithful restaurant pot a classic?!?!

I served this soup for dinner-  ladled us a each a bowl, topped with fresh ground black pepper and Tapatio hot sauce (we’re out of Siracha).

I enjoyed it so much that I went back for seconds!  You could pair it with some fresh, crusty bread or toasted whole wheat pitas and you’ve got a filling meal bursting with fiber, healthy fats, and veggies.

IMG_4850

Leave a Reply

