LA hikes to remember

IMG_4899

If I can’t get outside and go for a run or a hike every few days, I get antsy.  I can’t quiet my mind and the voice inside my head won’t shut up.  When I’m outside I can focus on nature, feel the breeze or sun on my skin, and just BE…it doesn’t hurt that I get my workout in….hello booty.

I’m lucky that Los Angeles has great weather and a surprisingly easy-to-find hiking scene.  Personally, I think early morning hikes are the best.  If I leave early on a Saturday or Sunday morning, I can get to my go-to hike in Temescal Canyon in 15-20 minutes! I hop on the PCH and I’m there- without having to fight beach traffic. YES!   Albeit today I didn’t get there and park until about 8:15 am so technically, it wasn’t early.

This morning there was a “happy” feeling in the air, I swear!  It was a chilly morning- and I’m saying this as a born and raised Wisconsin girl as I wore a long sleeve shirt and leggings in the 55-60 degree weather ( —->wimp).   The hike wasn’t yet packed with people, but everyone that I ran into said “hello” or “good morning”…. so refreshing to get that in LA!  I even got a “Go Badgers!!” and  high five (thanks to my WI hat).

My favorite route  is only around 3 miles, but pretty much straight uphill and then straight downhill.  There’s supposed to be a waterfall, but since it’s SO dry, there normally isn’t any water a-flowin 😦  I’m pretty sure I’ve seen Hilary Swank twice on this hike now….in this floppy (dorky) hiking hat and tan/green little outfit.  Either I don’t get out much or I never recognize celebrities out and about…probably both.

Temescal Canyon wasn’t the hike that I initial planned on taking today.  I found a new hike online and was planning on trying it out.  When I woke up this morning, I decided to stick closer to home and save the farther, more secluded hike for a day when I have a hiking buddy.  I’ve learned to be smarter when I’m out by myself, especially due to my Magical Mountain Lion Hike experience.  I will never forget that hike.  Not only did I see a mountain lion run into my path a few feet ahead of me, but then, after freezing in panic mode for a few seconds, I turned and bolted in the other direction, literally running into Tara a few minutes later.  I was able to hike with her for the rest of the day…feeling completely safe, chatting with her about life, positivity, and LA.

IMG_4889

IMG_4895

IMG_4897

Beautiful clear day.

And then there was the pit stop at the farmers market after…..daisies are my  happy flowers 🙂

Happy day!

IMG_4903

Leave a Reply

