great (& Greek) yogurt pancakes

Breakfast is the BEST meal of the day.  No question. Hands down. Numero Uno. The whole enchilada. King’s feast.  Uhhhhh yea.  I’m done.

I used to feel guilty eating pancakes.  Well, well, well…. not anymore.  There are SO many healthy pancake recipes out there.  It can be overwhelming (if you by chance are as indecisive as I am and pin recipes that you never use and flag recipes that you forget to come back to).  😉

Anyway, I’ll normally whip up the egg-banana-2 ingredient-recipe OR the oat-egg-white version for a quick, easy, and high protein breakfast.  When I have more time and I’m feeling like pancakes that taste more like “usual” pancakes, I’ll make a version of these babies:

GREEK YOGURT PANCAKES

  • 1 container 0% fat plain Greek yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • ~ 1/2 cup flour (whole wheat or oat flour)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • dash of cinnamon and splash of vanilla

Whip egg and mix ingredients.  **Note: Batter will be very dry.  If too dry, add a splash of milk (I use almond).

Heat skillet on med-hi heat and spray with cooking spray or 1-2 tbsp coconut oil.

Drop batter into cakes, heat until bubbles form, and flip!  Cook until desired doneness!

Top with fruit, nuts, maple syrup, or whatever you’re feelin’.


MMM

Today I followed the recipe pretty closely and used my Vitamix to grind oats into flour.  I topped the cakes with peanut flour sauce, some almonds for crunch, and a sliced banana.

+ a large cup of coffee  + dvr’d Olympics = a relaxing Saturday morning.

What did you have for the BEST meal of the day?

ingredients pancakes

before and after pancakes

IMG_5013

Leave a Reply

