WIAW #1

I’m that girl that likes to people watch.  Not in a creepy way, but in an observant, get to know you way.  Take me to a restaurant and I love checking out what’s on your plate and I’ll try to guess if you’re on a first date or how many years you’ve been married.  Take me to a festival or a ball game and I love to take in the scenery and crowds….weird? maybe a little.   I guess that’s why I love reading WIAW posts…see what other bloggers are eating and cooking up…and why I wanted to start posting my own eats.

It doesn’t hurt that WIAW will make me photograph my meals and snacks….like a food journal except I can really see my portion sizes…and if I’m overdoing it!  Most days, I like to use the Lose It! app to keep myself accountable and also track workouts.

So here goes nothing…

To be honest, today’s eats weren’t traditional for me AT ALL. But I’m trying to eat what I’m feeling, and I had to work in the evening so more snacks and a shake for dinner instead of in the morning were easiest.


WIAWbutton

7:00 AM Breakfast:

Margarita Grilled Cheese (two slices sprouted grain toast, fresh basil, fresh tomato, Smart Balance Light w/flax, and Trader Joe’s Lite Shredded Mozzarella) and two mugs of black coffee.

So so so good.  I made this for dinner a few days before and as soon as I saw the extra ingredients in the morning I knew what I wanted for breakfast.

I wish I snapped a photo of the cooking process.  I first used a cast iron skillet…until one side stuck and I practically had to scrape it off and transfer to a flat nonstick frying pan and finish grilling. Smile  Still delish.

grilled cheese

For my workout I went to a morning, hour long cardio sculpt class at my gym.

12 :00 PM Lunch:

Quinoa Veggie bowl (leftover quinoa, shredded cabbage, kale, carrots, more basil, squirt or two of mustard, splash of balsamic vinegar, and splash of Braggs Liquid Aminos).

quinoa bowl

2:00 PM Snack:

Chia Seed Pudding (almond milk, 1 Tbsp chia seeds, cinnamon, vanilla, stevia) and small green apple eaten on my porch.

chia seed snack

6 pm Dinner:

Protein Shake (Chocolate protein powder, kale, spinach, almond milk, cinnamon, flax seed) and unpictured veggies (cucumbers and carrots) and later some raw almonds eaten at the yoga desk.

almonds and smoothie

I went to my girlfriends after work.  She had a few friends over and we played this game:  Snorta.  It was my first time playing and it was fun but I was horrible!  Have you guys heard of it?

While I was there I had a few un-pictured sparkling waters that were yummy.

11 pm Snack:

By the time I got home I needed another snack.  I’m normally in bed by 10 pm so I suppose I had the late night munchies.  I nuked some oatmeal in a little ramekin (same as chia seed pudding dish).  I then nuked myself a second helping and added some Smart Balance and a little protein powder.  One tiny serving of oatmeal is never enough!   Also un-pictured! whoops.

There you have it! A snacky kind of day!

Leave a Reply

